Rudolph Grob Memorial Scholarship

The Pennsylvania Vegetable Growers Association is pleased to be able offer two annual scholarships in the amount of $1,000 in memory of Rudolph Grob of Millersville who served the Association for 50 years as a Director, 20 years as Secretary Treasurer and for over 20 years as manager of the Association’s Farm Show Booth.  Mr. Grob was a horticulture graduate of Penn State University who was employed for many years at Funks Farm Market in Millersville.

The funds for the scholarships are generated by a portion of the interest earned by the Association’s Keystone Fund, an endowment type fund created by the voluntary extra dues paid the Keystone Members of the Association.

The purpose of the scholarships is to assist children and grandchildren of Association members in obtaining an associate or a baccalaureate degree that will enable them to purse a career in the vegetable, potato or berry production industries.  Applicants must meet the following criteria:

  • be a child or grandchild of an Association member who has been a member in good standing for one or more years;
  • be currently enrolled or be planning to enroll in a two-year associate degree or four-year baccalaureate degree program at an accredited institution;
  • be in good academic standing; and
  • be intent on pursuing a career in the vegetable, potato, or berry production industries.

The $1,000 scholarships will be awarded to two students for a one-year period. Recipients may apply for a renewal although preference will be given to other qualified students over previous recipients.  It is not a need based scholarship.  Payment of the funds will be made directly to the institution.

For the entire scholarship information click here.

The following individuals received the Rudolph Grob Memorial Scholarship:

2020 – Nicole Guise, Clayton Harner, and Wyatt Kosa
2019 – Wyatt Kosa
2017 – Carville Mace Jr.
2016 – Lake Miller and Carville Mace Jr.
2015 – Lake Miller and Nathan Sturges
2014 – Carville Mace Jr.
2013 – Amy Metrick and Morgan Hetherington
2012 – Amy Metrick and Morgan Hetherington
2011 – Amy Metrick and Morgan Hetherington
2010 – Morgan Hetherington